Other Pages in this Section

AAC&U Board of Directors

Members of AAC&U participate in the association's governance through the board of directors. Board officers and new directors are elected at the business meeting of the membership, held in conjunction with the annual meeting.

Individuals at AAC&U member institutions are invited to suggest member presidents, chief academic officers, deans, and faculty members for service on the board. To recommend an individual, send an e-mail message to the President's Office at presidentsoffice@aacu.org.

AAC&U’s Board of Directors periodically releases official statements on issues of importance to the AAC&U community.  See Statement and Letters to find links to recent statements from the AAC&U Board of Directors.

Biographical Sketches for Our Board Members

For more information, please contact presidentsoffice@aacu.org.

2018 Officers

Richard Guarasci
Wagner College

Vice Chair
Carol A. Leary
Bay Path University

Past Chair
Elsa Núñez
Eastern Connecticut State University

Royce Engstrom
Professor of Chemistry
University of Montana

President of AAC&U
Lynn Pasquerella

Board Members

Thomas Bailey
President, Teachers College
Columbia University

Brooke Barnett
Associate Provost for Academic and Inclusive Excellence
Elon University

Katherine Bergeron
Connecticut College

William J. Craft
Concordia College

Ronald A. Crutcher
University of Richmond

Amy E. Ferrer
Executive Director
American Philosophical Association

David Theo Goldberg
University of California Humanities Research Institute

Gena Glickman
Massasoit Community College

Marjorie Hass
Rhodes College

Mary Dana Hinton
College of Saint Benedict

Alex Johnson
Cuyahoga Community College

Tuajuanda C. Jordan
St. Mary's College of Maryland

Paul G. Lannon
Holland & Knight

Laurie Leshin
Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Mary A. Papazian
San Jose State University

Raymund A. Paredes
Commissioner of Higher Education
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board

Robert L. Pura
President Emeritus
Greenfield Community College
Senior Fellow, Community College Leadership
University of Massachusetts, Boston

Lenore Rodicio
Executive Vice President and Provost
Miami Dade College

Judith R. Shapiro
President Emerita
The Teagle Foundation

Ralph Wilcox
Provost and Executive Vice President
University of South Florida

David Wilson
Morgan State University

Leslie E. Wong
San Francisco State University

Kathleen Woodward
Lockwood Professor in the Humanities and Professor of English
University of Washington

Ex Officio/Chair, ACAD
Laura L. Behling
Professor of English
Knox College

About Public Members

The bylaws of the association, approved in January 1995, allow for the election of up to three directors who are not affiliated with a member college or university. These "public members" of the board provide an informed perspective from outside higher education on issues the board addresses.